Afro Cuban Bop - 2023 European Liberation Hall label 18-track 2LP - RSD 2023 - All Products - Sound Station

Afro Cuban Bop - 2023 European Liberation Hall label 18-track 2LP - RSD 2023

500,00 DKK

The Long Lost Bird Live Recordings

Stock status: In stock

Exclusive for 6 months, this vinyl debut captures one of the biggest names in jazz, at the peak of his powers, live in concert.

This 180-gram double set features 18 selections from Charlie Parker, one of jazz’s greatest saxophonists. All the recordings were captured in the late 1940s and early '50s at such storied venues as Carnegie Hall and Birdland in New York, The Jubilee in Los Angeles, and the Portland Civic Auditorium.

Focused on experiments in Afro-Cuban fusion, Parker is joined by a dazzling array of jazz legends including Dizzy Gillespie, Milt Jackson, Art Blakey, Woody Herman, Stan Kenton, Red Rodney, and others. The track listing matches the cast of musicians – classics ‘Cherokee’ and ‘A Night in Tunisia’ are captured in pristine form, while maintaining the intimate jazz spontaneity of Parker’s best recordings.

The package includes an essay by rock keyboardist Keith Emerson. While these tracks have previously appeared on other albums, this is the first time they have been gathered in this package on double 180-gram vinyl.
Track Listing
1) Lament For the Congo
2) Mambo Fortunado
3) Dizzy Atmosphere
4) A Night In Tunisia
5) Groovin High
6) Confirmation
7) Night and Day
8) My Funny Valentine
9) Cherokee
10) One the Alamo
11) Manteca
12) A Short One
13) Leo The Lion Part 1
14) Cuban Holiday
15) Lemon Drop
16) The Goof and I
17) Leo The Lion Part 2
18) Salt Peanuts

Artist Charlie Parker
Media 2LP
Katalog nummer 89353346027 / ROC-3460
Land Europe
Label Rockbeat
Udgivelsesår 22.04.2023
Grading New
Genre Jazz
Sub Genre 1 Saxophone Jazz
Sub Genre 2 Afro Cuban
Condition New