Browse by artist:    a  b  c  d  e  f  g  h  i  j  k  l  m  n  o  p  q  r  s  t  u  v  w  x  y  z   other 

New Riders Of The Purple Sage - Powerglide - 1972 US Pressed Columbia label 11-track LP

€ 14
ArtistNew Riders Of The Purple Sage
TitlePowerglide - 1972 US Pressed Columbia label 11-track LP
Price € 14
Record labelColumbia
Catalogue noC31284
Year of release1972
GradingVG++ (Vinyl and Labels)/VG+(+) (Cover)
Stock listNew Riders Of The Purple Sage
Additional infoStart 1970ies US Pressed Columbia 11-track LP reissue, of Bay Area californian country rockers psychedelic tinged 2nd album featuring guest performances by The Deads' Jerry Garcia and Bill Kreutzmann, along with noted session player Nicky Hopkins.

Powerglide was the first New Riders album to feature Buddy Cage, who had replaced Garcia as the New Riders' pedal steel guitar player

Vinyl has the generic red company labels with orange company name and camera eyes rimprint and black center print.

Vinyl has machine stamped (ms) and hand etched (he) matrix information:
Side 1: PAL 31284 1-G
Side 2: P PBL 31284 1-L

Vinyl is housed in a back pasted picture cover.

VG++ (Vinyl and Labels)/VG+(+) (Cover):

Vinyl is bright and shiny - hardly any signs of play and handling and easily graded close to mint.

Labels are equally nice - a couple of marginal label manufacturing imperfections lowers the graded to near mint.

Cover has almost perfect front and back cover centers - hardly any wear or creasing - seams are nice and intact? almost no rubbing.
Spine and top corners are nice and pointy, almost no rubbing - lower front coner has a minor dent and is subsequently lightly rubbed - all in all a very attractive cover which is graded near mint.


Side 1:
1. Dim Lights, Thick Smoke (And Loud, Loud Music) (Joe Maphis, Max Fidler, Rose Lee Maphis) 4:15
2. Rainbow 3:05
3. California Day (Dave Torbert)2:40
4. Sweet Lovin' One 2:30
5. Lochinvar 3:33
6. I Don't Need No Doctor (Nick Ashford, Valerie Simpson, Jo Armstead) 4:47

Side 2:
1. Contract (Dave Torbert) 3:10
2. Runnin' Back to You (Dawson) 4:12
3. Hello Mary Lou" (Gene Pitney, Cayet Mangiaracina) 2:58
4. Duncan and Brady (trad., arranged by John Koerner) 5:23
5. Willie and the Hand Jive (Johnny Otis) 6:50

All songs written and composed by John Dawson unless otherwise noted

Recorded at Wally Heider Studio, San Francisco, CA.


John Dawson - acoustic and electric rhythm guitars, vocals, lead vocals on "Rainbow", "Sweet Lovin' One", "Lochinvar", "Runnin' Back to You", "Duncan and Brady"
David Nelson - lead guitar, vocals, lead vocal on "Dim Lights, Thick Smoke"
Dave Torbert - bass, vocals, electric rhythm guitar, acoustic guitar on "California Day" and "Hello Mary Lou", piano on "Duncan and Brady", lead vocals on "California Day", "I Don't Need No Doctor", "Contract", "Hello Mary Lou", and "Willie and the Hand Jive"
Buddy Cage - pedal steel guitar, dobro on "Lochinvar" and "Duncan and Brady"
Spencer Dryden - drums, percussion, broom, whistle, and whoopee on "Duncan and Brady"

Additional Musicians:
Nicky Hopkins - piano on "Dim Lights, Thick Smoke", "California Day", "I Don't Need No Doctor", "Contract", "Runnin' Back to You", "Willie and the Hand Jive"
Jerry Garcia - banjo on "Sweet Lovin' One", "Duncan and Brady"; piano on "Lochinvar"
Billy Kreutzmann - percussion on "Duncan and Brady", "Willie and the Hand Jive"
Peoples chorus on "Duncan and Brady" - Nelson, McDuke, Buddy, Judy, Steve
Riderettes on "I Don't Need No Doctor" - our boys in drag

Technical Credits:
Steve Barncard and the New Riders - Production
John Fiore - Engineer
George Beauregard - Second engineer
Bob McCloud, Artisan Sound, Hollywood - Mastering

Kelly and Mouse Studios - Outside album artwork
Lore Shoberg - Inside artwork