Browse by artist:    a  b  c  d  e  f  g  h  i  j  k  l  m  n  o  p  q  r  s  t  u  v  w  x  y  z   other 

Frank Zappa - Apostrophe (') - Original 1974 US Discreet label 9-track Quadradisc LP

€ 47
ArtistFrank Zappa
TitleApostrophe (') - Original 1974 US Discreet label 9-track Quadradisc LP
Price € 47
Record labelDiscreet Records/Warner Bros Records
Catalogue noDS4 2175
Year of release1974
GradingVG++ (Vinyl and Labels)/VG+ (Cover)
Stock listFrank Zappa
Additional infoRare original 1974 US Discreet/Warner Bros CD-4 Channel Quadradisc vinyl LP - Zappa's most commercially successful album in the United States presented in quadrophonic sound - featuring the singles "Cosmik Debris" and "Don't Eat the Yellow Snow".

Vinyl has the generic custom black printed yellow Quadradisc company labels - with top large and fat, red, capital lettering and shadow effect company name - labels have left side 'Quatradisc' logo.

Vinyl is housed in a back pasted picture cover.

The Hollywood, CA., based JVC Cutting Center
used a special half speed mastering system used to cut CD-4 Quad records. The Quadradisc LP's were only pressed for a very limited period and are rare - the vinyl album is fully compatible with conventional stereo systems even thoughit is mixed differently for 4-channel output.

Condition: VG++ (Vinyl and Labels)/VG+ (Cover):
Vinyl is superbright and shiny - hardly any sleeve wear - extremely close to mint.
Labels are clean perfect.

Cover is still in its original - opened - shrink wrapping - has a top left corner drill hole and just a touch of opening edge and corners denting - otherwise perfect - graded VG+.


Side 1:
1 Don't Eat The Yellow Snow 2:06
2 Nanook Rubs It 4:37
3 St. Alfonzo's Pancake Breakfast 1:52
4 Father O'Blivion 2:18
5 Cosmik Debris 4:10

Side 2:
1 Excentrifugal Forz 1:31
2 Apostrophe' (Frank Zappa, Jim Gordon, Jack Bruce) 5:53
3 Uncle Remus (Frank Zappa, George Duke) 2:54
4 Stink-Foot 6:35

All tracks written by Frank Zappa except where noted.

Recorded 1969 - January 1974 at Electric Lady Studios, New York, NY; Bolic Sound, Inglewood, Ca., and Paramount Recording Studios, Hollywood, Ca.
Mastered at, Laquer Cutting at JVC Cutting Center, Hollywood, CA

Frank Zappa - vocals, guitar, bass, bouzouki
Sal Marquez - trumpet
Ian Underwood - saxophone
Napoleon Murphy Brock - saxophone, backing vocals
Bruce Fowler - trombone
Don "Sugarcane" Harris, Jean-Luc Ponty - violin
Ruth Underwood - percussion
George Duke - keyboards, backing vocals
Tony Duran - rhythm guitar
Tom Fowler, Erroneous (Alex Dmochowski) - bass guitar
Jack Bruce - bass on "Apostrophe'"
Ralph Humphrey - drums (side one)
Johnny Guerin - drums on "Excentrifugal Forz"
Aynsley Dunbar - drums on "Uncle Remus" and "Stink-Foot"
Jim Gordon - drums on "Apostrophe"
Lynn (Linda Sims), Robert "Frog" Camarena, Ruben Ladron de Guevara, Debbie - vocals, backing vocals
Ray Collins, Sue Glover, Kerry McNabb - backing vocals

Technical Credits:
Frank Zappa - Production, Arrangements
Barry Keene, Bob Hughes, Steve Desper, Terry Dunavan - engineer
Kerry McNabb - Remix Engineer
Bob Ludwig, Brian Krokus, Dunt, Kansas, Oscar Kergaives, Paul Hof, Unity - technicians
Tadashi Hyakkan - Laquer Cutting
Darrell W. Johnson - mastering engineer

Cal Schenkel - artwork, graphic design
Ferenc Dobronyi - cover design
Mark Aalyson - back cover photography
Emerson-Loew - Front cover photography

Various Credits:
Zach Glickman - marketing