Browse by artist:    a  b  c  d  e  f  g  h  i  j  k  l  m  n  o  p  q  r  s  t  u  v  w  x  y  z   other 

John Patton - Along Came John - 2009 US Analogue Prod. 6-track Audiophile 2LP Set

€ 65
ArtistJohn Patton
TitleAlong Came John - 2009 US Analogue Prod. 6-track Audiophile 2LP Set
Price € 65
Record labelBlue Note Records/EMI Music Special Markets/Analogue Productions
Catalogue noBST 84130/ 509992-43833-1-8/ AP 84130
Year of release2009
GradingStill Factory Sealed (Cover VG++)
Stock listJohn Patton
Additional infoScarce out of print 2009 Analogue Production label audiophile 2LP issue of Kansas City, Missouri, born jazz, blues and R&B pianist and organists debut album - originally released by the Blue Note label in 1963.

John Patton, Grant Green and Ben Dixon were introduced to Blue Note by Lou Donaldson and quickly became the quintessential rhythm section for Blue Note's funkier session. They came together for this, John Patton's first album, with two of the label's tenor saxophonists Fred Jackson and Harold Vick. The double tenors and organ trio make an unbeatable combination for some soulful, swinging music. The title tune and "The Silver Meter" were radio hits that remain among the most popular of Patton's recorded performances.

The Allmusic review by Stephen Thomas Erlewine awarded the album 4 stars and stated "These original compositions may not all be memorable, but the band's interaction, improvisation, and solos are. Tenor saxophonists Fred Jackson and Harold Vick provide good support, as well, but the show belongs to Patton, Green, and Dixon, who once again prove they are one of the finest soul-jazz combos of their era".

Vinyls are mastered by Kevin Gray and Steve Hoffman at AcousTech Mastering from the original analog Blue Note master tapes - pressed by Record Technology Incorporated on two heavyweight - 180 g - virgin vinyl 45 rpm LPs - limited and numebred of 2500 copies - this is number 0849.

Vinyls are pressed with slightly altered blue and white Blue Note replica labels - housed in a single pocket picture cover displaying the original 1963 album artwork.

Condition: Still Factory Sealed (VG++ Cover):
This copy is still factory sealed and as such unopened and unused with intact 'mastering' sticker on front wrapping - it has a touch of lower seam-edge wear from storage though. Hence the near mint cover grading.


Side 1:
1. The Silver Meter (Ben Dixon) 5:41
2. I'll Never Be Free (Bennie Benjamin, George David Weiss) 5:03

Side 2:
1. Spiffy Diffy (Dixon) 6:02
Side 3:
1. Along Came John 6:03

Side 4:
1. Gee Gee 6:01
2. Pig Foots (Dixon) 5:44

All compositions by John Patton except as indicated

Recorded April 5, 1963 at Van Gelder Studio, Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey
Mastered at AcousTech Mastering, Camarillo, CA, US
Pressed by RTI, Camarillo, CA, US


John Patton - Organ
Grant Green - Guitar
Ben Dixon - Drums
Fred Jackson, Harold Vick - Tenor Saxophone

Technical Credits:
Alfred Lion - Production (Original 1963 Issue)
Michael Cuscuna - Reissue Producer
Rudy Van Gelder - Recording Engineer
Ron McMaster - Mastering
Kevin Gray, Steve Hoffman - Remastering

Patrick Roques - Reissue Design
Joe Goldberg, Michael Cuscuna - Liner Notes
Francis Wolff - Cover Photography
Reid Miles - Original 1963 Cover Design