Browse by artist:    a  b  c  d  e  f  g  h  i  j  k  l  m  n  o  p  q  r  s  t  u  v  w  x  y  z   other 

Family - A song for me - Original 1970 German Reprise label 8-track LP

€ 27
TitleA song for me - Original 1970 German Reprise label 8-track LP
Price € 27
Record labelReprise Records
Catalogue noRS 6384
Year of release1970
GradingVG+ (Vinyl and labels)/VG+(+) (Cover)
Stock listFamily
Additional infoScarce original 1970 German Reprise Records 8-track LP - British progressive rock bands 3rd album - and their first featuring bassist John Weider and keyboardist Poli Palmer as a substitute for Rick Grech, who had left for Blind Faith, and saxophonist Jim King respectively.
'A song for me' features a slightly different tracklisting copmpaired to the UK issue - incorporates the slightly rural 'No Mule's Fool' instead of 'The Cat and the Rat' - opverall musically almost equally devided between more potent slightly proggish hard rock and folk-rock stylings.

Vinyl has the generic orange and tan company 'steamboat' labels - housed in an outer laminated picture cover.

Condition: VG+ (Vinyl and labels)/VG+(+) (Cover):

Vinyl is shiny - has a couple of superficial marks combined with light sleeve wear - perfect labels.

Cover is great: A couple of small areas of laminate lift towards spine on top front and back cover - a few slight wrinkles from spine - otherwise extremely nice cover centers - perfect inner spread.
Seams are solid - a little denting to back opening, a minor top spine corner dent otherwise extremely nice corners - a simply way above average cover - graded close to near mint/excellent.


Side 1:
1. No Mule's Fool 3:13
2. Drowned in Wine 4:08
3. Love Is a Sleeper 4:00
4. Some Poor Soul 2:44
5. Wheels (John Whitney, Roger Chapman, Ric Grech) 4:38

Side 2:
1. Hey - Let It Rock 1:02
2. Stop for the Traffic - Through the Heart of Me 2:09
3. Song for Sinking Lovers 4:04
4. 93's O.K. J (instrumental) (John Whitney, John Weider) 3:57
5. A Song for Me (John Whitney, Roger Chapman, John Weider, Rob Townsend )9:13

All tracks written by John "Charlie" Whitney and Roger Chapman, except where noted.

Recorded late 1969 in Olympic Studios in London

Pressed by TELDEC »Telefunken-Decca« Schallplatten G.m.b.H., Hamburg, West Germany


Roger Chapman - vocals, percussion
John "Charlie" Whitney - guitars, banjo, organ
John Weider - guitars, bass, violin, dobro
John "Poli" Palmer - vibes, piano, flute
Robert Townsend - drums, percussion, harp

Additional musicians:
George Bruno - organ

Technical Credits:
Family - production
George Chkiantz - Recording engineer
Dave Bridges, Keith Harwood, Roger Beale - assistant engineer