Browse by artist:    a  b  c  d  e  f  g  h  i  j  k  l  m  n  o  p  q  r  s  t  u  v  w  x  y  z   other 

Depeche Mode - Ultra - Original 1997 UK Limited Edition 11-track LP

€ 100
ArtistDepeche Mode
TitleUltra - Original 1997 UK Limited Edition 11-track LP
Price € 100
GenreRock & Country
Record labelMute Records
Catalogue noSTUMM 148
Year of release1997
GradingVG++ (Vinyl and Labels)/VG+ (Inner Sleeve)/VG+ (Cover)
Stock listDepeche Mode
Additional inforare original 1997 UK Mute label 11-track vinyl LP - synth pop bands 9th opus - their first as a trio... without Alan Wilder, recorded with TACK>>HEAD's Keith LeBlanc and Doug Winbish on "USeless" and Can's Jaki Liebezeit on "The Bottom Line".

Ultra features the singles "Barrel of a Gun", "It's No Good", "Home" and "Useless".

Vinyl has custom picture labels - hand etched matrix information:
Side 2: STUMM 148 B¹ MPO
stressing that the album is mastered by the Camden, London, UK The Exchange - pressed by the French MPO pressing plant.

Vinyl is housed stiff card inner sleeve - everything packed in picture sleeve

Condition: VG++ (Vinyl and Labels)/VG+ (Inner Sleeve)/VG+ (Cover):
Vinyl is beautifully lustrous - has a very light degree of sleeve scuffing but otherwise perfect.
Labels are mint - supporting the thought that this album has been listened to a very few times and cared for when so - but used directly from the coarse card inner sleeve.

Inner sleeve has a 2 - 3" mid-lower split but is otherwise extremely close to perfect.

Cover has the same mid-lower split - slightly repaired with a black marker - otherwise just a little wrinkling from edges and superficial creasing inflicted by top-right front tag-removal - graded straight VG+.


Side 1:
1. Barrel Of A Gun 5:35
2. The Love Thieves 6:34
3. Home 5:42
4. It's No Good 5:58
5. Uselink 2:21
6. Useless 5:12

Side 2:
1. Sister Of Night 6:04
2. Jazz Thieves 2:54
3. Freestate 6:44
4. The Bottom Line 4:26
5. Insight 8:37

Recorded January 1996 - February 1997 at Abbey Road, Eastcote, Westside, Strongroom, RAK (London) Studios as well as at Electric Lady Studios, New York City, NY, and Larrabee West Studios, Los Angeles, Ca - USA.

Mastered at The Exchange, Camden, London, UK.
Pressed by MPO, France


Depeche Mode:
Dave Gahan - lead vocals
Martin Gore - guitar, keyboards, backing vocals, lead vocals (3, 10)
Andy Fletcher - keyboards, backing vocals (1)

Additional musicians:
Victor Indrizzo - percussion (1, 4)
Jaki Liebezeit, Danny Cummings - percussion (10)
BJ Cole - pedal steel guitar (10)
Gota Yashiki, Keith LeBlanc - drums (6)
Doug Wimbish - bass guitar (6)
Daniel Miller - System700 (5)
Dave Clayton - Keyboards & Keyboard Programming, String arrangements ("Home")
Kerry Hopwood - Programming

Technical credits:
Tim Simenon - Production, Mix
Q - Mix, Engineering
Paul Hicks, Guy Massey, Lee Fitzgerald, Tom Rixton, Gary Forde, Lee Phillips, Jamie Campbell, Jim, Greg, Audie Chamberlain, Robbie Kazandjian - Assisting Enginneers
Mike Marsh - Mastering (The Exchange)
Gareth Jones (RAK Studios) - Mix ("Uselink" & "Jazz Thieves"), additional vocals engineering ("Home", "Love Thieves" & "Freestate")
Richard Niles - String score ("Home")
Graham Perkins - Strings coordination ("Home")

Anton Corbijn - Art direction, photography & front cover
Brian Dowling - Color prints
Richard Smith, Area - Sleeve design
Evelyn Halus - Vocal coach