Browse by artist:    a  b  c  d  e  f  g  h  i  j  k  l  m  n  o  p  q  r  s  t  u  v  w  x  y  z   other 

Black Sabbath - Black Sabbath - 1976 UK NEMS label 7-track LP

€ 20
ArtistBlack Sabbath
TitleBlack Sabbath - 1976 UK NEMS label 7-track LP
Price € 20
Record labelNems Records & Tapes
Catalogue noNEL 6002
Year of release1976
GradingVG+ (Vinyl and Labels)/VG+ (Cover)
Stock listBlack Sabbath
Additional info1976 UK NEMS label 7-track LP issue of Aston, Birmingham, doom-quartets highly influential, groundbreaking debut album originally released on the Vertigo imprint in 1970.

The album was labelled "bullshit necromancy" and the "worst of the counterculture on a plastic platter..." by The Village Voice' Robert Christgau, and "just like Cream! But worse" by Rolling Stone's Lester Bangs.

Q magazine has the album in their list of the "Best Metal Albums of All Time" 30 years later - stating that "Black Sabbath" "...was to prove so influential it remains a template for metal bands three decades on."

Vinyl has the generic white printed black labels with top dotted and boxed company name.
Vinyl has machine stamped (ms) and handwritten (hw) matrix information:

Side 1: NEL 6002 A1 (ms, scratched out) WWA 006 A (hw, scratched) NEL 6002-A (hw)
Side 2: NEL 6002 B1 (ms, scratched out) WWA 006 A (hw, scratched) NEL 6002-B (hw)

Vinyl is housed in a Press & Post Ltd. manufactured gatefold picture cover with the ever eerie artwork by Keith MacMillan/Keef and the inverted cross artwork in the inner spread.

Condition: Condition: VG+ (Vinyl and Labels)/VG+ (Cover):

Vinyl has a couple of light and inaudible marks or scuffs on each side paired with faint sleeve inflicted wear.
Labels does not indicate any play or handling and vinyl is overall graded VG+.

Outer cover is nice - only light rubbing to corners and very light so to opening edges. Inner spread has a name handwritten in ball point pen in the lower right part of the 2nd panel - otherwise extremely nice - hence the overall VG+ grading.


Side 1:
1 Black Sabbath 6:20
2 The Wizard 4:24
3 Behind The Wall Of Sleep 3:37
4 N.I.B. 6:08

Side 2:
1 Evil Woman (Larry Weigand, Dick Weigand, David Wagner) 3:25
2 Sleeping Village 3:46
3 Warning (Aynsley Dunbar, Alex Dmochowski, Victor Hickling, John Moorshead) 10:28

All songs written and composed by Tony Iommi, Geezer Butler, Bill Ward and Ozzy Osbourne, except as noted.

Recorded 16 October 1969 at Regent Sound Studios in London, England


Black Sabbath:
Ozzy Osborne - vocal, harmonica on "The Wizard"
Toni Yommi - guitar
Geezer Butler - bass
Bill Ward - drums

Technical Credits:
Rodger Bain - production, Jew's harp on "Sleeping Village"
Tom Allom, Barry Sheffield - engineering

Marcus Keef - graphic design, photography