Browse by artist:    a  b  c  d  e  f  g  h  i  j  k  l  m  n  o  p  q  r  s  t  u  v  w  x  y  z   other 

David Bowie - Scary Monsters - Original 1980 Portugese RCA Victor label 10-track LP - Orange Labels, Green back

€ 35
ArtistDavid Bowie
TitleScary Monsters - Original 1980 Portugese RCA Victor label 10-track LP - Orange Labels, Green back
Price € 35
Record labelRCA Records
Catalogue noPL-13647
Year of release1980
GradingVG++ (Vinyl and Labels)/M- (Insert)/VG++ (Cover)
Stock listDavid Bowie
Additional infoOriginal Portugese RCA Victor label 10-track LP - Bowies 1st album after the Berlin period - "... created as the culmination of Bowie's experimental genre-shifting of the '70s"* - often labelled Bowies last great album by reviewers.

Vinyl has the generic orange company labels with left side outline RCA logo and rightside horizontal solid Victor text. Company texts and lower rimtext is in white - all other label text in black.
Vinyl has A/B-1 matrix print and is accompanied by illustrated, foldout lyric insert. Vinyl is ultimately housed in a glossy picture cover which has green tinted back illustrations.

Condition: VG+(+) (Vinyl and Labels)/VG++ (Insert)/VG+(+) (Cover):
Vinyl is nice - has a couple of light and far from audible surface lines paired with light sleeve inflicted marks... suggesting that the vinyl was used direcly from the paper inner sleeve when used.

Side 1 label is mint - without any signs of handling - side 2 labels has a light degree of spindletraces - slightly scattered within the centre ring. Label is otherwise perfect, and vinyl is overall graded close to near mint/excellent.

Insert is close to mint - cover has a Little light wrinkling from edges... a Little pressure to spine, but otherwise extremely nice - graded at least close to near mint/excellent.


Side 1:
It's No Game (No. 1) (David Bowie - Japanese translation by Hisahi Miura) 4:20
2. Up the Hill Backwards 3:15
3. Scary Monsters (and Super Creeps) 5:12
4. Ashes to Ashes 4:25
5. Fashion 4:49

Side 2:
Teenage Wildlife 6:56
2. Scream Like a Baby 3:35
3. Kingdom Come (Tom Verlaine) 3:45
4. Because You're Young 4:54
5. It's No Game (No. 2) 4:22

All songs written by David Bowie, except where noted.

Recorded February and April 1980 at The Power Station, New York City
Vinyl is pressed at Telectra Portugal, Lisboa
Cover is manuafactured by Sericrom, Lda., Portugal

David Bowie - vocals, keyboards, backing vocals, saxophone
Dennis Davis - percussion
George Murray - bass guitar
Carlos Alomar - guitars

Additional musicians:
Chuck Hammer - guitar synthesiser on "Ashes to Ashes" and "Teenage Wildlife"
Robert Fripp - guitar on "Fashion", "It's No Game", "Scary Monsters (and Super Creeps)", "Kingdom Come", "Up the Hill Backwards", and "Teenage Wildlife"
Roy Bittan - piano on "Teenage Wildlife", "Ashes to Ashes" and "Up the Hill Backwards"
Andy Clark - synthesiser on "Fashion", "Scream Like a Baby", "Ashes to Ashes" and "Because You're Young"
Pete Townshend - guitar on "Because You're Young"
Tony Visconti - acoustic guitar on "Scary Monsters (and Super Creeps)" and "Up the Hill Backwards", backing vocals
Lynn Maitland, Chris Porter - backing vocals
Michi Hirota - voice on "It's No Game (No. 1)"

Technical Credits:
David Bowie, Tony Visconti - production and engineering
Larry Alexander, Jeff Hendrickson - engineering assistance

Brian Duffy - photography, Cover Concept
Edward Bell - painting
David Bowie - Cover Concept
Natasha Kornilof - Clown Costume
Richard Sharah - Make-up

* Stephen Thomas Erlewine