Browse by artist:    a  b  c  d  e  f  g  h  i  j  k  l  m  n  o  p  q  r  s  t  u  v  w  x  y  z   other 

John and Beverly Martyn - The Road To Ruin - Original 1970 UK Island label 9-track LP

€ 75
ArtistJohn and Beverly Martyn
TitleThe Road To Ruin - Original 1970 UK Island label 9-track LP
Price € 75
GenreFolk & Rock
Record labelIsland Records
Catalogue noILPS 9133
Year of release1970
GradingVG+(+) (Vinyl and Labels)/VG++ (Cover)
Stock listJohn and Beverly Martyn
Additional infoRare original 1970 UK Island lavbel 9-track LP the follow up to the duos 'Stormbringer' album and the couples last album as a duo - recorded with Rocky Dijon on congas, keyboard player Paul Harris, flutist Lyn Dobson, and dummer Mike Kowalski who were used by Island as session musicians on Nick Drakes 'Five Leaves Left' and 'Bryter Layter' as well as Fairport Convention and Jethro Tull bassist Dave Pegg, and Pentangle co-founder Danny Thompson on double bass - produced by Joe Boyd.

Vinyl has the generic pink rim palm tree label - machine stamped matrix information:
Side 1: ILPS 9133A-2U, mother/stamper 1 P
Side 2: ILPS 9133b-2U, mother/stamper 1 GG

Vinyl is housed in a matt finish, pinched spine picture cover fabricated by E.J. Day Group.

Condition: VG+(+) (Vinyl and Labels)/VG++ (Cover) :

Vinyl is bright and shiny - hardly any sleeve wear - a touch of sleeve residue on one side -very light and far from audible.
Side 1 label has a single short and superficial spindletrace - Side 2 a couple - vinyl is overall graded close to near mint.

Cover has wonderful front and back cover centers - a single light wrinkle along top-right front vinyl outline and otherwise a couple of very maginal ones from front edges.

Seams are intact - spine easily readable and without pressure - only a little wear towards the vulnarable pinched spine corners. Boottom and top seam has only a very light degree of rubbing - corners likewise just a touch of rubbing overall - a simply extremely nice cover - graded near mint.


Side 1:
1. Primrose Hill (Beverley Martyn) 2:53
2. Parcels 3:23
3. Auntie Aviator (John & Beverley Martyn) 6:49
4. New Day 3:56

Side 2:
1. Give Us A Ring (Paul Wheeler) 3:55
2. Sorry To Be So Long (John & Beverley Martyn) 4:35
3. Tree Green 3:12
4. Say What You Can (John & Beverley Martyn) 3:05
5. Road to Ruin 6:38

Recorded 1970 Sound Techniques, Chelsea, London

John Martyn - vocals, guitar, harmonica, keyboards
Beverley Martyn - vocals, guitar
Dudu Pukwana - saxophone on "Road to Ruin", "Sorry To Be So Long" and "Say What You Can"
Lyn Dobson - flute on "New Day"; saxophone on "Say What You Can"
Dave Pegg - bass on "Say What You Can" & "Give Us A Ring"
Rocky Dzidzornu - congas
Paul Harris - keyboards
Wells Kelly - drums on all tracks, except "Auntie Aviator"; bass on "Auntie Aviator"
Mike Kowalski - drums on "Auntie Aviator"
Alan Spenner - bass on "Primrose Hill", "Road to Ruin" and "Sorry To Be So Long"
Ray Warleigh - saxophone on "Primrose Hill"
Danny Thompson - double bass on "New Day"

Technical Credits:
Joe Boyd - Production
John Wood - engineer
Tony Cox - Arrangement (Say What You Can)
John Martyn and Paul Harris - Arrangements

Nigel Waymouth - design, photography
Max Ernst - front cover engraving