Browse by artist:    a  b  c  d  e  f  g  h  i  j  k  l  m  n  o  p  q  r  s  t  u  v  w  x  y  z   other 

Mechanical Bird - Bitter Herbs - 2013 Danish VME label 10-track LP

€ 20
ArtistMechanical Bird
TitleBitter Herbs - 2013 Danish VME label 10-track LP
Price € 20
GenreFolk & Rock
Record labelVME
Catalogue noVMELP 11030
Year of release2013
GradingNew/Still Factory Sealed
Stock listMechanical Bird
Additional info2013 Danish VME label 10-track LP - the debut album by alt-psychedelic folk-rock commune featuring members of Hymns From Nineveh and Kloster - singers and multifacettet instrumentalists Jakob Brixen, Sarah Hepburn and and Nikolaj Paakjær Mikkelsen, drummer Carl Andreas Brixen - as well as guests and Kloster collaborators Rakel Maria Rahbæk and Jonas Haahr Petersen, Aske Bode... who's everywhere... especially as producer and engineer, and Morten Aron lending his psychedelic sensibiliteies.. from On Trial, Spids Nøgenhat and a thousand other projects - the ins and outs of a very cool, inspired Danish sub-popular wave - not without spiritual inclination and with many facets - musically a mix between the twangy veranda dramas of the deep south and more aesthetic acoustic guitar motifs wrapped in sitar, cello & violin, fløjte, all sorts of keys and percussions,

Vinyl comes with download code with extra track "Hyssop" - only availiable on the CD version - picture cover.

Condition: New/Still Factory Sealed:
Unopened and unused - new!


Side 1:
1 Seven Valleys
2 Bitter Herbs
3 A Lilac Scent
4 Tamarisk Tree
5 Silvery Coffer

Side 2:
1 The Incredible Sadness
2 Like Almond
3 Esau
4 The Seas Will Turn Against Me
5 Caravan

Written and composed by Jakob Brixen

Recorded at Pinligtavshed, Vanløse, Denmark and at Guldminen, Stengade 30, Copenhagen N, 2012

Jakob Brixen - Vocals, Guitar, Banjo, Zither [Shahi Baaja], Saw [Singing Saw], Duduk, Tin Whistle
Sarah Hepburn - Vocals, Flute, Harmonium, Omnichord
Christel Voldby Winther - Violin, Vocals
Nikolaj Paakjær Mikkelsen - Vocals, Organ, Mandolin, Sitar, Piano
David Vejen Blomqvist - Bass, Double Bass, Sitar, Baritone Guitar, Vocals
Carl Andreas Brixen - Drums, Percussion, Vocals

Additional Musicians:

Rakel Maria Rahbæk - Bansuri (Seven Valleys)
Aske Bode - Percussion ((Seven Valleys)), Piano (The Incredible Sadness), Harpsichord (The Incredible Sadness, Caravan), Piano (Esau).
Magnus Lindgaard Jochumsen- Percussion (Seven Valleys, Like Almond)
Morten Aron Larsen - Electric Guitar (Bitter Herbs, Tamarisk Tree)
Jonas Haahr Petersen - Cello (A Lilac Scent, Silvery Coffer)

Technical Credits:
Aske Bode - Production
Mechanical Bird ? Production, Arrangements
Marcus Forsgren - Mix
Håkan Åkesson - Mastering

Christian Bjørnø - Design, Front Cover Illustration
hristian Bjørnø, Mai Aabenhus Stig - Front Cover Illustration