Browse by artist:    a  b  c  d  e  f  g  h  i  j  k  l  m  n  o  p  q  r  s  t  u  v  w  x  y  z   other 

Rainbow Band - Rainbow Band - 2017 German Shadoks label Deluxe Reissue 2LP Set

€ 45
ArtistRainbow Band
TitleRainbow Band - 2017 German Shadoks label Deluxe Reissue 2LP Set
Price € 45
Record labelShadocks Music
Catalogue noSHADOKS MUSIC 190
Year of release2017
GradingStill Factory Sealed & New
Stock listRainbow Band
Additional info2017 German Shadoks label 2LP Set - a superb high reissue of jazz influenced progressive Danish rock bands debut album which was issue in two versions in December 1970 and February 1971 - the first one recorded with lead singer Lars Bisgaard, the 2nd one re-recorded with Rainbow Bands new lead singler, Allan Mortensen from The Tears, adding the new track "Sippin' Wine" and featuring "Where Do You Live" in an altered version - ultimately renamed "Talkin".

Rainbow Band was essentially a supergroup at the time - featuring Peer Frost - formerly of Young Flowers, Lars Bisgaard of Maxwells, Carsten Smedegaard of Beefeaters and Bent Hesselmann as well as the former jazz players Niels Brønsted and Bo Stief.

The Shadoks label writes that "The rhythm section produced a powerful 60s beat, forcing Peer Frost to squeeze out some of his best guitar solos." and quotes Melody Maker editor Richard Williams "the first time I heard this album, I was immediately seduced by its sense of freshness and space. The styles of playing are superficially little different from those of their brothers in Britain and America, but I find the atmosphere of this music wholly more relaxed and open".
"Perhaps one of the best Danish productions from the 1970's, produced by Freddy Hansson & Rainbow Band and musically so well done that it will rank among the 5 best Danish 70's albums easily. A fantastic album from beginning to the end - and both versions are great."

Vnyls are manyfactured as high quality 180 g pressings - accompanied by reproduction of rare fold out poster and a 2-page insert with in depth liner notes and many rare period photos. Vinyls are housed in printed picture inner sleeves - again great era photography and artwork.

Everything is housed in a superb handmade, heavy duty gatefold picture cover which is an exact reproduction of the gatefold cover crediting Lars Bisgaard as leadsinler. The Shadoks reissue is manufactured limited to 600 copies, handnumbered in the cover itself.

Condition: Still factory Sealed - New:
Unopened and unused - brand new.


1st Issue:

Side 1:
1. Where Do You live 4:25
2. King of the sun 5:04
3. Nobody
4. B.M. 7:48

Side 2:
1. Whe're you going to be 2:45
2. Living on the hill 14:01
3. Rainbow song 3:51

Tracklisting - 2nd Issue:

Side 1:
1 Talking (Allan Mortensen, Niels Brøndsted) 4:58
2 King Of The Sun (Allan Mortensen, Andy Levy, Bent Hesselman) 4:23
3 Nobody (Traditional - Niels Brøndsted) 4:57
4 Whe're You Going To Be (Andy Levy, Bent Hesselman) 5:29
5 B.M. (Bo Stief) 2:29

Side 2:
1 Sippin' Wine (Allan Mortensen) 3:03
2 Living On The Hill (Lars Bisgaard, Peer Frost) 14:37
3 Rainbow Song (Bent Hesselman)

1st issue album Recorded July and August 1970 at Ivar Rosenberg Lydteknik, Copenhagen
2nd issue re-recorded late 1970 - start 1971 at Ivar Rosenberg Lydteknik, Copenhagen

Lars Bisgaard - Vocals (1st Issue)
Allan Mortensen - Vocals (2nd Issue)
Peer Frost - Guitar
Bo Steif - Bass
Carsten Smedegård - Drums
Bent Hesselmann - Tenor and Soprano Saxophone, Flute
Niels Brønsted - Piano

Technical credits:
Freddy Hansson - Production, Engineer
Rainbow Band - Production
Ivar Rosenberg - Engineer

Jan Persson - Photography
Poul Bruun, Brauge-Saitz - Cover Layout
Anne Marie Brauge - Cover Illustration