Browse by artist:    a  b  c  d  e  f  g  h  i  j  k  l  m  n  o  p  q  r  s  t  u  v  w  x  y  z   other 

Van Morrison - Down The Road - 2002 European Polydor label 15-track 2LP Set

€ 200
ArtistVan Morrison
TitleDown The Road - 2002 European Polydor label 15-track 2LP Set
Price € 200
Record labelPolydor
Catalogue noLP / 589 177 -1
Year of release2002
Grading2xVG++ (Vinyl and Labels)/2xVG++ (Inner Sleeves)/VG+(+) (Cover)
Stock listVan Morrison
Additional infoRare original 2002 Polydor label 15-track 2LP set - Van's 29th album... a mix of "... R&B and blues with country and folk, and with a few exceptions, like "Georgia on My Mind," the music is most often rooted in 1950s and early 1960s popular music."* - featuring the singles "Hey Mr. DJ" and "Meet Me In The Indian Summer."

John Metzger of The Music Box wrote: 'every few years, Morrison manages to tap into some magical space that sums up both his career and his influence in one fell swoop ... not that they're all that groundbreaking, they're just penultimate pieces of perfection. Such is the case with his latest near-masterpiece Down the Road, which finds him fondly recalling the folk, blues, and jazz to which he grew up listening.' and Pop Matters critic John Kriecbergs stated in his review: 'Bolstered by yet another outstanding collection of backing musicians, ... Down the Road rivals some of Morrison's strongest work.'

Condition: 2xVG++ (Vinyl and Labels)/2xVG++ (Inner Sleeves)/VG+(+) (Cover):
Record 1 has a couple of light and inaudible marks - inflicting a near mint grading - Record 2 is extremely close to mint - all labels are mint.

Both inner sleeves has a marginal corner dent - graded near mint.

Cover has a little light wrinbkling from edges - just a touch of superficial creasing - a minor and slightly rubbed opening corner dent - graded close to near mint - a simply very nice copy.


Side 1:
1. Down the Road 4:15
2. Meet Me in the Indian Summer 3:57
3. Steal My Heart Away 4:20
4. Hey Mr. DJ 3:45

Side 2:
5. Talk Is Cheap 4:19
6. Choppin' Wood 3:26
7. What Makes the Irish Heart Beat 3:47
8. All Work and No Play 4:51

Side 3:
9. Whatever Happened to P.J. Proby? 3:13
10. The Beauty of the Days Gone By 5:45
11. Georgia on My Mind (Hoagy Carmichael, Stuart Gorrell) 5:35
12. Only a Dream 4:57

Side 4:
13. Man Has to Struggle 5:07
14. Evening Shadows (Acker Bilk, Morrison) 4:01
15. Fast Train 5:01

Recorded Autumn 2000 - September 2001, Wool Hall, Bath, Somerset, England


Van Morrison - acoustic guitar, harmonica, alto saxophone, vocals
David Hayes - bass guitar, double bass
Matt Holland - trumpet, flugelhorn, background vocals
Pete Hurley - bass guitar
Colin Griffin, Bobby Irwin ? drums
Mick Green - acoustic and electric guitars
Johnny Scott - electric guitar, background vocals
Bob Loveday - violin
Jake Walker - viola
Rosie Wetters - cello, string section leader
Fiachra Trench ? piano
John Allair - Hammond organ
Richard Dunn, Geraint Watkins - piano, Hammond organ
Acker Bilk - clarinet
Martin Winning - clarinet, tenor saxophone
Lee Goodall - tenor, alto and baritone saxophones, flute, background vocals
Crawford Bell, Olwin Bell, Karen Hamill, Siobhan Pettit, Aine Whelan - background vocals

Technical Credits:
Van Morrison - Production
Stuart Bruce - Engineer
Tim Cooper - Mastering
Walter Samuel - Engineer, Mixing
Johnny Scott, Aine Whelan - Vocal Arrangement
Fiachra Trench - String Arrangement

Ben Sidran - Liner Notes
Peter Thorpe - Photography