Browse by artist:    a  b  c  d  e  f  g  h  i  j  k  l  m  n  o  p  q  r  s  t  u  v  w  x  y  z   other 

Elf - Elf - Original 1972 US Epic label 1st Pressing 8-track LP - Yellow labels/-1 Matrix Endings

€ 100
TitleElf - Original 1972 US Epic label 1st Pressing 8-track LP - Yellow labels/-1 Matrix Endings
Price € 100
Record labelEpic
Catalogue noKE 31789
Year of release1972
GradingVG++ (Vinyl and labels)/VG+ (Cover)
Stock listElf
Additional infoRare original 1972 US Epic label 8-track 1st issue LP version the debut album from Deep Purple affiliated, blues-boogie influenced, Cortland, New York, hard rockers... some fine proto-metallic excursions - like 'Never More'... featuring Future Black Sabbath and Dio spearhead... and all Ritchie Blackmore's Rainbow

Vinyl has the generic yellow company labels with black printing and top oval company logo.
Vinyl has machine stamped matrix information:
Side 1: p X o AL 31789-1A
Side 2: ? p X BL 31789-1B (? indicates that a couple of letters are only partly identifiable... probably two 'o's')
Matrix indicates that this copy is manufactured from the first run of the master from stampers manufactured by Columbias plating and processing of fathers, mothers, stampers -Customatrix. Vinyl was subsequently pressed by Columbia's pressing plant in Pitman, New Jersey.

Vinyl is housed in a plain paper inner sleeve -placed in a back pasted picture cover which has a promotional issue sticker on upper back - very fitting for a 1st pressing.

Condition: VG++ (Vinyl and labels)/VG+(+) (Cover):

Vinyl is bright and shiny - just a touch of sleeve inflicted only wear - mint labels -overall graded near mint.

Cover has a touch of wear along upper vinyl outline - a top opening dented corner.
Seams are intact except for 1 cm split against the dented opening corner - otherwise nice corners with only marginal rubbing.
Top seam has light discontinued wear, hardly any to lower seam - easily readable, but slightly sunbleached spine - wear free opening edges - a simnply very nice cover which offers no real distraction to the viewers attention - overall graded VG+.


Side 1:
1 Hoochie Koochie Lady 5:32
2 First Avenue 4:22
3 Never More 3:50
4 I'm Coming Back For You 3:27

Side 2:
1 Sit Down Honey (Everything Will Be Alright) 3:48
2 Dixie Lee Junction 5:08
3 Love Me Like A Woman 3:46
4 Gambler, Gambler 4:28

Recorded at Studio One, Atlanta, Georgia, April - July, 1972.

All tracks written by Gary Driscoll, Mickey Lee Soule, David Feinstein & Ronald Padavona.


Ronald James Padanona/Ronnie James Dio - bass, vocals
David Feinstein - guitar
Gary Driscoll - drums
Mickey Lee Soule - piano

Technical Credits:
Ian Paice, Roger Glover - Production
Rodney Mills - Engineer
Tub Langford - Assistant Engineer

Hiroshi Morishima - Cover Design
David Feinstein, Ronald Padavona/Dio - Photography