Browse by artist:    a  b  c  d  e  f  g  h  i  j  k  l  m  n  o  p  q  r  s  t  u  v  w  x  y  z   other 

R.E.M. - Automatic For The People - Original German Pressed 12-track Vinyl LP

€ 55
TitleAutomatic For The People - Original German Pressed 12-track Vinyl LP
Price € 55
Record labelWarner Bros
Catalogue no9362-45055-1/ WX 488
Year of release1992
GradingVG+(+) (Vinyl and Labels)/VG++ (Inner Sleeve)/VG++ (cover)
Stock listR.E.M.
Additional infoOriginal 1992 German Warner Bros 12-track vinyl LP - capturing Athens, Georgia, combo at their finest and featuring the singles "Drive", "Man on the Moon", "The Sidewinder Sleeps Tonite", "Everybody Hurts", "Nightswimming" and "Find the River".

"Automatic for the people" was labelled "musically irresistible" by Rolling Stones reviewer Paul Evans and Ann Powers wrote in her review in The New Times "... R.E.M. can't resist its own talent for creating beautiful and moving sounds.", "...Buck, Mills and Berry can still conjure melodies that fall like summer sunlight. And Stipe still possesses a gorgeous voice that cannot shake its own gift for meaning."

Vinyl is is manufactured for the UK and European market. Vinyl has the generic slightly off-white company labels with top 'shield' logo, Vinyl comes complete with illustrated lyric inner sleeve and glossy picture cover.

Condition: VG+(+) (Vinyl and Labels)/VG++ (Inner Sleeve)/VG++ (cover):
A wonderful copy - bright and lustrous vinyl has only light signs of play or handling - a light degree of sleeve inflicted wear and otherwise mint.
Label has less than a handful only very slightly scattered spindletraces graded near mint.

Vinyl is overall graded close to near mint.

Inner sleeve and cover are nice - overall graded near mint.


Side 1:
1. Drive
2. Try Not To Breathe
3. The Sidewinder Sleeps Tonite
4. Everybody Hurts
5. New Orleans Instrumental No.1
6. Sweetness Follows

Side 2:
1. Monty Got A Raw Deal
2. Ignoreland
3. Star Me Kitten
4. Man On The Moon
5. Nightswimming
6. Find The River


Bill Berry -drums, percussion, keyboards, bass guitar, backing vocals
Peter Buck -electric and acoustic guitars, mandolin, bass guitar
Mike Mills --ass guitar, piano, keyboards, backing vocals
Michael Stipe -vocals

Additional musicians:
scott Litt -harmonica, clavinet

Strings and oboe on "Drive", "The Sidewinder Sleeps Tonight", "Everybody Hurts", and "Nightswimming":
John Paul Jones - orchestral arrangements
George Hanson - conductor
Denise Berginson-Smith, Lommie Ditzen, Patti Gouvas, Sandy Salzinger, Sou-Chun Su, Judy Taylor - violin
Knox Chandler, Kathleen Kee, Daniel Laufee, Elizabeth Murphy - cello
Reid Harris, Paul Murphy, Heidi Nitchie - viola
Deborah Workman - boe

Technical credits:
Production Scott Litt -production, mixing engineer
Ed Brooks -second engineer (Seattle)
George Cowan -second engineer (Bearsville)
John Keane -recording engineer (Athens)
Mark Howard -second engineer (New Orleans)
Tod Lemkuhl -second engineer (Seattle)
Ted Malia -second engineer (Atlanta)
Stephen Marcussen - mastering engineer (Precision Mastering)
Clif Norrell - recording engineer, mixing engineer
Andrew Roshberg - second engineer (Miami)

Michael Stipe, Tom Recchion - Art Direction, Design
Fredrick Nilsen - Photography