Browse by artist:    a  b  c  d  e  f  g  h  i  j  k  l  m  n  o  p  q  r  s  t  u  v  w  x  y  z   other 

Prince - Love Symbol - Original 1992 German Warner Bros label 18-track 2LP Set

€ 65
TitleLove Symbol - Original 1992 German Warner Bros label 18-track 2LP Set
Price € 65
GenreR&B & Pop & Rock
Record labelWarner Bros
Catalogue no9362-45037-1
Year of release1992
Grading2xVG++ (Vinyl and Labels)/2xVG++ (Inner Sleeves)/VG++ (Cover)
Stock listPrince
Additional infoRare 1992 Germany pressed Warner Bros label 18-track 2LP issue of Prince's funk, R&B, hip hop, jazz, reggae, and synthpop styled 14th full-length studio album - featuring the singles 'Sexy MF', 'My Name Is Prince', '7', 'Damn U' and 'The Morning Papers'.

The Village Voice reviewer Robert Christgau, wrote of the album in his "Consumer Guide": "Designed to prove his utter inexhaustibility in the wake of Diamonds and Pearls, by some stroke of commerce his best-selling album since Purple Rain, this absurdly designated 'rock soap opera' (is he serious? is he ever? is he ever not?) proves mainly that he's got the funk."

Vinyls have the generic paisley patterned artwork with top 'Love Symbol' logo above gold lettered company name placed in a blue box - all other label print is black.

Vinyls are placed in lyric inner sleeves - ultimately in a single pocket picture cover.


Side 1:
1. My Name Is Prince (Prince, Tony M.) (6:38)
2. Sexy M.F. (Prince, Tony M., Levi Seacer, Jr.) (5:24)
3. Love 2 The 9's (5:44)

Side 2:
1. The Morning Papers (3:57)
2. The Max (4:30)
3. Segue (0:21)
4. Blue Light (4:37)
5. Wanna Melt With U (3:50)
6. Sweet Baby (4:01)

Side 3:
1. The Continental (5:30)
2. Damn U (4:24)
3. Arrogance (Prince, Tony M.) (1:35)
4. The Flow (2:25)

Side 4:
1. 7 (5:12)
2. And God Created Woman (3:18)
3. 3 Chains O' Gold (6:02)
4. Segue (1:29)
5. The Sacrifice Of Victor (5:41)

All songs written by Prince, except where noted.

Recorded May 1991 (Blue Light), September 1991 to March 1992 and in July 1992 (Wanna Melt With U) at Paisley Park Studios, Chanhassen, MN, USA,
Mixed at Paisley Park Studios, Chanhassen, MN, USA;
Additional mix at Larrabee Sound Studios, West Hollywood, CA, USA
Kirstie Alley's voice recorded At Record Plant, Hollywood, CA
Strings recorded at Ocean Way Recording, Los Angeles, CA
Mastered at Bernie Grundman Mastering, Hollywood, CA
Pressed by Warner Music Manufacturing Europe, Alsdorf , Germany


Prince and the New Power Generation:
Prince - Vocals, Guitars, Keyboards, Bass, Drums, Percussion
Mayte - Vocals
Tony M. - Raps
Levi Seacer - Guitars
Tommy Barbarella - Keyboards
Sonny T. - Bass
Michael Bland - Drums
Kirk Johnson - Percussion

Additional Personnel:
Carmen Electra - Guest Rap on "The Continental"
The Steeles (Jevetta, Jearlyn, JD and Fred Steele) - Vocal Backing on "The Sacrifice of Victor"
Eric Leeds - Saxophone on "Blue Light"
Michael Koppelman - Bass on "Blue Light"
DJ Graves - Scratching
Mike Nelson, Kathy J., Dave Jensen, Brian Gallagher and Steve Strand - Horns
Airiq Anest - Programming
Clare Fischer - String Arrangements
Damon Dickson - Dancer

Technical Credits:
Prince and the New Power Generation - Production, Arrangements
Keith Cohen, George Black (I Wanna Melt with You) - Additional Production
Clare Fischer - Production (Strings)
Dave Friedlander - Recording Engineer
Michael Koppelman - Recording Engineer, mix
Ray Hahnfeldt, Brian Poer - Recording Engineer, additional mix
Larry Mann - Recording Engineer (Strings)
Peter Arata - Recording Engineer (Kirstie Alley's voice)
Keith Cohen, Tom Garneau, Bob Rosa and Steve Beltran - Mix
Dave Aron, Airiq Anest, Steve Durkee - Additional Mix
Steve Noonan - Mastering, additional mix, Recording Engineer
Brian Gardner ? Mastering

Sample Credits:
'The Flow' contains a sample of Tramp, written by Lowell Fulson and Jimmy McCraklin, as performed by Lowell Fulson
'7' contains samples of I Know You Got Soul, written and performed by Eric B. & Rakim, Jazz It Up (Jazz Mix), written and performed by C.F.M. Band and Niggaz 4 Life, written by The D.O.C., Dr. Dreand MC Ren, as performed by N.W.A.
'The Sacrifice Of Victor' contains a sample of God Made Me Funky, written by Bennie Maupin, Bill Summers, Blackbyrd McKnight, Mike Clark, Paul Jackson, as performed by The Headhunters

Jeff Gold, Greg Ross - art direction
Sotera Tschetter - creative director
Liz Luce - additional design
Lorna Stovall - hand lettering
Michael Diehl - eye logo
Jeff Katz - band photos
Tonya Thompson - hairstyles (credited for "Prince and the NPG's typhoons")
Kasha - make-up - visages